Salmonella and Salmonellosis

While the food we eat in Canada is generally very safe, sometimes it may carry bacteria that can make us sick, like Salmonella.

What is Salmonella?

Salmonella bacteria are found naturally in the intestines of animals, reptiles and birds. The bacteria are usually transmitted to people when they eat foods contaminated with animal feces (stool). Contaminated foods often come from animal sources, like poultry, beef, milk or eggs. But all foods, including fruits and vegetables, can become contaminated. It is important to remember that foods that are contaminated with bacteria can have a completely normal appearance. This is why it is important to always use safe food handling techniques.

People who eat food contaminated by Salmonella can become ill with salmonellosis. The disease is more common in summer than in winter. Like other foodborne illnesses, the symptoms of salmonellosis can feel like stomach flu, but they can also develop into serious illness with long-lasting effects.

How do people get sick?

Did you know?

Intestinal illness can be caused by viruses, bacteria or parasites, and usually involves vomiting and diarrhea. People often call it the flu, though it is in no way related to the influenza virus, which causes respiratory illness.

Both animals and people can be carriers of Salmonella. They can then spread the bacteria to foods, surfaces, other animals or people. Food can become contaminated with Salmonella during butchering, when food is handled by a person infected with Salmonella, or from cross-contamination when raw foods or pets are handled improperly.

The most common way of getting salmonellosis is by eating contaminated foods that have not been cooked properly. Common sources of Salmonella include:

  • raw and undercooked meat (especially poultry)
  • raw or undercooked eggs
    • homemade salad dressings, hollandaise sauce, mayonnaise, ice cream, cookie dough, tiramisu and frostings
  • raw fruits and vegetables (especially sprouts and cantaloupes) and their juices
  • unpasteurized dairy products, like raw milk and raw milk cheeses, cream-filled deserts and toppings
  • pet treats
  • fish and shrimp

You can also be exposed to Salmonella by:

  • not washing fresh fruits and vegetables before eating them
  • not thoroughly cleaning work surfaces used to prepare raw meat and other foods
  • not washing your hands with soap after handling raw meat or using the bathroom
  • not washing your hands with soap after handling pets, especially those with diarrhea or exotic pets like snakes, turtles and reptiles

What are the symptoms and treatment?

People infected with Salmonella can experience a wide range of symptoms. Some do not get sick at all, though they can still spread the infection to others. Others feel as though they have a bad case of the flu. Still others become seriously ill and must be hospitalized.

Most people with salmonellosis develop the following symptoms 6 to 72 hours after being infected:

  • fever
  • chills
  • diarrhea
  • abdominal cramps
  • headache (with sudden onset)
  • nausea
  • vomiting (sometimes)

The illness usually lasts four to seven days and most people recover without treatment. As with any disease causing diarrhea or vomiting, people infected should drink plenty of liquids to replace lost body fluids and prevent dehydration. In severe cases, patients may need to be given fluids intravenously. Although anyone can get salmonellosis infection, pregnant women, people with weakened immune systems, young children and the elderly are most at risk for developing serious complications.

In a small number of cases, Salmonella may spread from the intestines to the blood stream and other body sites, causing severe illness and, in vulnerable people, death. In cases of severe illness, patients may be treated with antibiotics. However, some Salmonella bacteria have become resistant to many commonly used antibiotics.

A small number of infected people go on to develop chronic pains in their joints, irritation of the eyes and painful urination, a condition called Reiter's Syndrome. It can last for months or years, sometimes leading to chronic arthritis, which is difficult to treat.

Because many different illnesses cause the same symptoms as salmonellosis, the only way to diagnose it is through laboratory tests on the stools of infected people. Once Salmonella bacteria have been identified, further testing can determine the type of Salmonella and the appropriate antibiotics to use in treatment.

How do I avoid getting sick?

Food safety tip

When cooking a chicken or turkey, it is safest to cook the stuffing in a separate dish, to prevent cross-contamination and undercooking. For more on cooking poultry safely, see Poultry Safety.

Foods contaminated with Salmonella look, smell and taste normal. The good news is, Salmonella and many other harmful bacteria can be killed by cooking food properly.

These tips will help protect you and your family from Salmonella:

  • Cook food to a safe internal temperature using a digital thermometer.
  • Poultry and meat, including hamburgers, should be well cooked, not pink in the middle. If you are served undercooked food in a restaurant, send it back.
  • Do not eat raw or undercooked eggs. Raw eggs may be found in homemade foods like hollandaise sauce, Caesar and other salad dressings, tiramisu, ice cream, mayonnaise, cookie dough and frostings.
  • Only buy clean and uncracked eggs. Store eggs in their original carton (so you can check the "best before" date) and place them in the coldest section of the fridge, not the door.
  • Eat and drink only pasteurized juice, cider, milk and milk products. Mother's milk is the safest food for infants. Breastfeeding prevents salmonellosis and many other health problems.
  • When buying and storing groceries, keep meats separate from fruits, vegetables, cooked foods and ready-to-eat foods. If you use reusable grocery bags and bins, make sure to clean them often with hot, soapy water.
  • Wash your hands before handling any food. Be sure to wash your hands, cutting boards, counters, knives and other utensils after preparing raw foods.
  • Wash raw fruits and vegetables thoroughly with clean, safe running water before you prepare and eat them. Use a brush to scrub produce with firm or rough surfaces, like oranges, cantaloupes, potatoes and carrots.
  • Never place cooked food on the unwashed plate that held raw meat, poultry or fish. Wash thermometers in between testing.
  • Wash your hands after contact with animal feces (for example, after changing kitty litter or scooping up after your dog).
  • Since reptiles can have Salmonella, always wash your hands after handling them. Reptiles, including turtles, are not good pets for children and should not be in the same house as an infant.
  • Keep pets away from food storage and preparation areas. Wash your hands well with soap and water after handling pet treats, pet food and pet toys, or after playing with or cleaning up after your pet.
  • If you have been diagnosed with salmonellosis or any other gastrointestinal illness, do not prepare food or pour water for other people.
  • If you are diagnosed with salmonellosis, be sure that you or your doctor tells the local Public Health Department. If many cases happen at the same time, it may mean that a restaurant or a particular food item has a problem that needs to be corrected.

Also, these safe food practices will reduce your risk of contracting salmonellosis and other foodborne illnesses.

What does the Government do to protect me?

Food safety tip

Pasteurization destroys Salmonella and other harmful bacteria. Try using pasteurized egg products when preparing foods that traditionally contain raw eggs, like eggnog, mayonnaise, salad dressing, ice cream and mousses.

In Canada, several government organizations work together every day to keep your food safe:

  • Health Canada makes food safety standards and policies to help minimize the risk of foodborne illnesses.
  • The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) enforces these policies and standards and carries out inspections to make sure the food industry meets its food safety responsibilities. The CFIA works with Health Canada to make sure that foodborne illness is detected early and warnings go out to the public quickly.
  • The Public Health Agency of Canada studies the incidence and causes of diseases in Canada, conducts outbreak surveillance, and coordinates outbreak response.

The Government of Canada works very hard to protect your health and safety:

  • We are carrying out a five-year Food and Consumer Safety Action Plan, to strengthen and modernize Canada's safety system and make sure you can have confidence in the quality and safety of the food, health and consumer products you buy.
  • We are investing $75 million more in Canada's food safety system (on top of the $113 million committed in 2008) to hire more inspectors, update lab technology, and improve communication with Canadians.
  • We support and participate in public awareness campaigns about safe food practices, like the Canadian Partnership for Consumer Food Safety Education's Be Food Safe program, which encourages Canadian consumers to think of food safety at every step of the food handling process, from shopping for groceries to re-heating leftovers.
Date modified:

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Salmonelle et salmonellose

Les aliments produits au Canada sont généralement très salubres, mais peuvent parfois être contaminés par des bactéries qui nous rendent malades, comme la bactérie salmonelle.

Qu'est-ce que la salmonelle?

La salmonelle est une bactérie naturellement présente dans l'intestin des animaux, des reptiles et des oiseaux. Les bactéries sont généralement transmises aux humains lorsqu'ils consomment des aliments contaminés par les matières fécales (excréments) des animaux. Les aliments contaminés proviennent souvent de sources animales comme la volaille, le bœuf, le lait ou les œufs, mais tous les aliments peuvent être contaminés, y compris les fruits et les légumes. Il est important de se rappeler que les aliments qui sont contaminés par les bactéries ont une apparence tout à fait normale. Il convient donc de toujours utiliser des techniques de manipulation sans risque des aliments.

Les personnes qui consomment des aliments contaminés par la salmonelle peuvent contracter la salmonellose. Cette maladie est plus courante en été qu'en hiver. Comme pour d'autres maladies d'origine alimentaire, les symptômes de la salmonellose peuvent s'apparenter à ceux d'une grippe intestinale, mais peuvent aussi engendrer des maladies graves ayant des effets persistants.

Comment les gens tombent-ils malades?

Saviez-vous que?

Les maladies intestinales peuvent être causées par des virus, des bactéries et des parasites et donnent généralement lieu à des vomissements et à la diarrhée. Bien qu'on parle alors de grippes intestinales, ces maladies n'ont rien à voir avec les virus grippaux causant des affections respiratoires.

Les animaux et les humains peuvent être porteurs de la salmonelle. Ils peuvent ensuite contaminer des aliments, des surfaces, d'autres animaux ou d'autres humains. Les aliments peuvent être contaminés à la salmonelle au moment du dépeçage de la viande, lorsque les aliments sont manipulés par une personne infectée à la salmonelle, ou par contamination croisée, lorsque des aliments crus ou des animaux ne sont pas manipulés adéquatement.

La cause la plus courante des cas de salmonellose est la consommation d'aliments contaminés qui n'ont pas été cuits suffisamment. La salmonelle se trouve généralement dans les aliments suivants :

  • viande crue ou pas assez cuite (surtout la volaille)
  • œufs crus ou pas assez cuits
    • aliments faits maison comme les vinaigrettes, la sauce hollandaise, la mayonnaise, la crème glacée, la pâte à biscuits, le tiramisu et les glaçages
  • fruits et légumes crus (notamment les germes et les cantaloups) et leur jus
  • produits laitiers non pasteurisés comme le lait cru et les fromages au lait cru, les desserts fourrés à la crème et les garnitures à la crème
  • gâteries pour les animaux domestiques
  • poisson et crevettes

Vous pouvez également être exposé à la bactérie salmonelle si :

  • vous ne lavez pas les fruits et les légumes frais avant de les consommer;
  • vous ne nettoyez pas complètement les surfaces de travail utilisées pour préparer la viande crue et d'autres aliments;
  • vous ne vous lavez pas les mains avec du savon après avoir manipulé de la viande crue ou après être allé aux toilettes;
  • vous ne vous lavez pas les mains avec du savon après avoir touché des animaux de compagnie, surtout les animaux qui ont la diarrhée ou les animaux exotiques comme les serpents, les tortues et les reptiles.

Quels sont les symptômes et le traitement?

L'infection à la salmonelle est associée à un vaste éventail de symptômes. Certaines personnes ne seront pas malades du tout, mais peuvent quand même transmettre la bactérie à d'autres personnes. D'autres penseront avoir attrapé une mauvaise grippe. Dans de rares cas, la personne devient gravement malade et doit être hospitalisée.

La plupart des personnes qui contractent la salmonellose présentent les symptômes suivants de 6 à 72 heures après l'infection :

  • fièvre
  • tremblements
  • diarrhée
  • crampes abdominales
  • maux de tête (avec apparition subite)
  • nausées
  • vomissements (parfois)

La maladie dure généralement de quatre à sept jours, et la plupart des malades se rétablissent sans traitement. Comme pour toute maladie causant la diarrhée ou des vomissements, la personne infectée doit boire beaucoup de liquides pour remplacer les liquides organiques perdus et empêcher la déshydratation. Dans les cas graves, les patients doivent recevoir des fluides par voie intraveineuse. N'importe qui peut contracter la salmonellose, mais les femmes enceintes, les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli, les jeunes enfants et les personnes âgées sont plus susceptibles de souffrir de complications graves.

Dans certains cas, la salmonelle peut envahir l'appareil circulatoire et d'autres parties du corps, ce qui provoque une maladie grave et, chez les sujets vulnérables, la mort. Dans les cas graves, on peut administrer des antibiotiques au patient. Toutefois, certains types de salmonelle sont devenus résistants à de nombreux antibiotiques d'usage courant.

Un petit nombre de malades éprouvent plus tard des douleurs articulaires, une irritation oculaire et une miction douloureuse. C'est le syndrome Reiter. Cela peut durer des mois, voire des années et, parfois, se transformer en arthrite chronique, une maladie difficile à traiter.

Comme plusieurs maladies provoquent des symptômes similaires, la seule façon de diagnostiquer la salmonellose consiste à analyser en laboratoire les matières fécales du malade. Lorsque les tests confirment la présence de salmonelle, d'autres tests peuvent permettre de déterminer le type de salmonellose et l'antibiotique qui convient le mieux.

Comment éviter de tomber malade?

Conseil sur la salubrité des aliments

Pour la cuisson du poulet ou de la dinde, il est préférable de faire cuire la farce dans un plat à part pour éviter la contamination croisée et une cuisson insuffisante. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur la cuisson de la volaille, consultez le site Volaille - Salubrité.

Les aliments contaminés par la salmonelle ont une apparence, une odeur et un goût normaux. Heureusement, la cuisson adéquate des aliments permet de tuer la salmonelle et beaucoup d'autres bactéries nocives.

Ces conseils vous aideront à vous protéger et à protéger votre famille contre la bactérie salmonelle :

  • Faites cuire les aliments à une température sécuritaire de cuisson interne mesurée à l'aide d'un thermomètre numérique.
  • Faites bien cuire la volaille et la viande, y compris la viande à hamburger, et assurez-vous qu'il n'y a plus de rose au centre. Si on vous sert un aliment mal cuit au restaurant, retournez-le.
  • Évitez les œufs crus ou mal cuits. Il y a des œufs crus dans des aliments faits maison comme la sauce hollandaise, la vinaigrette César et d'autres vinaigrettes, le tiramisu, la crème glacée, la mayonnaise, la pâte à biscuits et les glaçages.
  • N'achetez que des œufs propres et non fêlés. Conservez les œufs dans leur emballage original (afin d'en vérifier la date de péremption) et placez-les dans la section la plus froide du réfrigérateur, et non dans la porte.
  • Ne buvez que du jus, du cidre, du lait et des produits laitiers pasteurisés. Le lait maternel est l'aliment le plus sûr pour le nourrisson. L'allaitement maternel permet d'éviter les infections à la salmonelle et bien d'autres problèmes de santé.
  • Dans le chariot d'épicerie et à la maison, séparez en tout temps la viande et la volaille crues des fruits, des légumes, des aliments cuits et des aliments prêts-à-manger. Si vous utilisez des sacs d'épicerie réutilisables, assurez-vous de les laver souvent à l'eau chaude savonneuse.
  • Lavez-vous les mains avant de manipuler des aliments. Lavez-vous les mains et nettoyez la planche à découper, les comptoirs, les couteaux et ustensiles après avoir préparé des aliments crus.
  • Lavez les fruits et les légumes à fond sous une eau courante propre avant de les préparer et de les manger. Utilisez une brosse pour bien frotter les produits frais dont la peau est ferme ou rugueuse, comme les oranges, les cantaloups, les pommes de terre et les carottes.
  • Ne placez jamais les aliments cuits dans l'assiette non lavée dans laquelle se trouvait la viande, la volaille ou le poisson cru. Lavez le thermomètre après chaque utilisation.
  • Lavez-vous les mains après chaque contact avec des excréments animaux, par exemple si vous changez la litière du chat ou ramassez les matières fécales du chien.
  • Comme les reptiles peuvent être porteurs de la salmonelle, lavez-vous toujours les mains après en avoir touché un. Les reptiles, y compris les tortues, ne sont pas des animaux de compagnie qui conviennent aux enfants et ne devraient pas se trouver dans la même maison qu'un nourrisson.
  • Tenez les animaux loin des garde-manger et des surfaces de préparation des aliments. Vous devez vous laver soigneusement les mains avec de l'eau et du savon après avoir touché aux gâteries, aux aliments et aux jouets de vos animaux de compagnie ainsi qu'après avoir joué avec ces derniers ou ramassé leurs excréments.
  • Si vous souffrez de salmonellose ou de toute autre affection gastro-intestinale, évitez de préparer des aliments ou de verser de l'eau pour d'autres personnes.
  • Si le diagnostic confirme que vous souffrez de salmonellose, il faut que vous ou votre médecin en informe le service de santé publique. Si de nombreux cas surviennent en même temps, cela signifie peut-être qu'un restaurant ou un aliment en particulier présente un problème qu'il faut corriger.

De plus, ces pratiques alimentaires sûres vous permettront de réduire le risque de contracter la salmonellose ou toute autre maladie d'origine alimentaire.

Que fait le gouvernement pour me protéger?

Conseil sur la salubrité des aliments

La pasteurisation détruit la salmonelle et d'autres bactéries nocives. Lorsque vous préparez des aliments qui contiennent habituellement des œufs crus, comme du lait de poule, de la mayonnaise, de la vinaigrette, de la crème glacée et des mousses, utilisez plutôt des ovoproduits pasteurisés.

Au Canada, plusieurs organisations gouvernementales collaborent chaque jour afin d'assurer la salubrité de vos aliments :

  • Santé Canada élabore des normes et des politiques de salubrité des aliments pour aider à réduire le risque de maladies d'origine alimentaire.
  • L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) assure le respect de ces politiques et de ces normes et procède à des inspections pour s'assurer que l'industrie alimentaire respecte les exigences en matière de salubrité. L'ACIA collabore avec Santé Canada pour s'assurer que les maladies d'origine alimentaire sont détectées immédiatement et que des mises en garde sont rapidement diffusées.
  • L'Agence de la santé publique du Canada étudie l'incidence et les causes des maladies au Canada, assure la surveillance des éclosions et coordonne les interventions en cas d'éclosion.

Le gouvernement du Canada ne ménage pas ses efforts pour assurer votre santé et votre sécurité :

  • Nous exécutons le Plan d'action quinquennal pour assurer la sécurité des produits alimentaires et de consommation pour renforcer et moderniser le système de sécurité du Canada et nous assurer que vous pouvez avoir confiance en la qualité et la salubrité des aliments, des produits de santé et des produits de consommation que vous achetez.
  • Nous investissons 75 millions de dollars de plus dans le système d'assurance de la salubrité des aliments au Canada (qui s'ajoutent aux 113 millions de dollars investis en 2008) pour embaucher davantage d'inspecteurs, mettre à jour les technologies de laboratoire et améliorer les communications avec les Canadiens.
  • Nous participons à des campagnes de sensibilisation du public sur les pratiques alimentaires sûres, comme le programme Soyez prudents avec les aliments du Partenariat canadien pour la salubrité des aliments, un programme qui invite les consommateurs canadiens à penser à la salubrité des aliments à chaque étape de la manipulation des aliments, de l'achat dans les épiceries jusqu'à la nouvelle cuisson des restes d'aliments.
Date de modification :